Checking in a Content Object

From UPK wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

When working in a client/server environment, all documents are stored in the Library on the Server. When you create a new document, it is initially saved to your Local Repository, and when you check out a Content Object it is copied to your Local Repository. When you have finished creating/editing the Content Object, you should check it back in, which will copy it back to the Server.

Al the time that a Content Object is checked out to you, it is locked which means that other developers cannot edit it - although they can still display the most recent version on the server.

To check in a Content Object, carry out the following steps:

  1. In the Library (or within an Outline Element), click on the Content Object(s) that you want to check in, to select them.
  2. Click on the Check In button (or right-click on the Content Object and select Check In from the shortcut menu, or select menu option Document | Check In).
  3. If there are additional Content Objects associated with your selection, then a dialog box will be displayed asking you if you want to check in only your selection, or your selection and related documents. Note that this will be displayed any time there are Related documents, regardless of whether these Related Documents are checked out or not. You can also click on the 'View related documents link to display these documents, to decide if you do want to check them in or not. Select the appropriate option.
  4. In the Check In Comment dialog box, enter an explanation of the changes that you have made into the large, text area (labeled Provide check in comments for <Document Title>). This is not mandatory, but it is recommended that you always enter check-in comments as these appear in the Document History.
  5. If you want to keep the Content Object(s) checked out, then select the Keep checked out checkbox. This will still save the Content Object(s) to the server (and create a new version) but will keep it checked out to you and therefore locked. This is useful if you haven't finished with the Content Object yet but still want to save a server copy - for example, as a point in time snapshot/backup, or to let other users see your changes without allowing them to check the document out themselves.
  6. If you are checking in multiple documents, then by default the same check-in comments will be applied to all of the documents. If you want to enter different comments for each document, then deselect the 'Apply to all documents checkbox, and you will be prompted to enter a separate check-in comment for each document.
  7. Click on the OK button.


Notes

  • If you try to check in a document that is not checked out, nothing will happen (a new version will not be saved to the server).
  • If you check in a document that has been checked out but not changed, the check-out will be cancelled (and the lock removed) but a new version will not be saved to the server.
Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox